Introduction

When removing cached users from either K2 Workspace>Management Console>License Management>Licensed User or K2 Workspace>User Settings>Single Sign On, the users details are deleted from the HostServer database.  This means that the GUID assigned to the specific user is removed.  If the user was configured as a “Run As” user during the design process, errors might occur when running a process instance due to the user being removed and the linked GUID that no longer exists.  This is due to the “Run As” functionality that makes use of the specific GUID per user. 

In K2 4.6.2 this functionality has been changed in such a way that when a licensed user is removed, the user will only be disabled and the user details will still exist in the database.

Current Functionality

  1.  Ensure there are multiple licensed users.
  2. Open K2 Workspace>Management Console>License Management>Licensed Users or K2 Workspace>User Settings>Single Sign On.
  3. Select a user and click the Remove Credentials button.
  4. The user will be removed from the list.
  5. The user will also be removed from the K2 database from the HostServer.SecurityCredentialCache table.

New Functionality

  1.  Ensure there are multiple licensed users.
  2. Open K2 Workspace>Management Console>License Management>Licensed Users or K2 Workspace>User Settings>Single Sign On.
  3. Select a user and click the Remove Credentials button.
  4. The user will now only be disabled and will not be removed from the list.
  5. The user details will still be stored in the HostServer.SecurityCredentialCache table.

Verify that the user is now disabled

The new functionality does not indicate which user was disabled in K2 Workspace>Management Console>License Management>Licensed Users or K2 Workspace>User Settings>Single Sign On.  This can however be verified in the K2 database from the HostServer.SecurityCredentialCache table.  If the “Password” column for the user has a blank value and the “PasswordCached” column is set to false, this indicates that the user is now disabled.

  • The disabled users do not form part of the Licensed User Count.
  • In a future release the disabled users will not display in K2 Workspace>Management Console>License Management>Licensed Users.