This article was created in response to a support issue logged with K2. The content may include typographical errors and may be revised at any time without notice. This article is not considered official documentation for K2 software and is provided "as is" with no warranties.
Developers are unable to open a workflow because it is stuck loading at 80%.
When the workflow is opened in K2 Designer, it starts to load correctly but the loading indicator will hang at 80 percent. This can happen for a workflow that was just deployed moments before or a workflow that hasn't been touched for some time.
Generally, this issue occurs because the browser was closed while the workflow was being deployed or saved. As a first step, please clear the browsers cache and completely restart the browser. If this does not resolve the issue, continue following the instructions below.
This article contains steps that remove a workflow from the database. Please backup the K2 Database before making any changes described in this article.
When a workflow is created and deployed, there are two types of that workflow stored in two different locations in the K2 Database. These are the 'Design Time' and 'Run Time' versions of the workflow.
The Design Time workflow is used for making design changes on the K2 Designer site; while the Run Time workflow is located in a different table in the K2 Database and is used for the execution of the workflow. In K2 Designer, when the workflow is saved, it updates the Design Time version of the workflow. It is only when the workflow is 'Deployed' that the Run Time version of the workflow is updated.
This is how the Design Time version of the workflow looks in Designer:
This is how the Run Time version of workflow looks in Designer (note the deploy arrow):
This issue can be resolved by deleting the Design Time version of the workflow from K2 Designer, which will cause K2 to automatically populate the Run Time version in the same category.
Deleting the Design Time version of the workflow will remove any changes made to the workflow since the last time it was deployed.
Once the Run Time version of the workflow is repopulated, it will need to be edited and saved to recreate the Design Time version of the workflow.
If any changes need to be made to the workflow, it will need to be deployed again to update the Run Time version.
Please note that these steps only remove the current Design Time workflow. It does not remove the current workflow version or any previous versions of the workflow from K2 Management. This means that the K2 Database and K2 Management may still be holding onto a possibly corrupted version of the workflow. If there are concerns that this workflow still exists, please refer to this KB article to rollback to a previous version of the workflow:
In some cases, a newly created workflow is unable to be deployed and the developer will see this error: "Login failed for user 'DOMAIN\K2Webservice'. Reason: The account is disabled." After receiving this error, the developer will be unable to load the workflow past 80%. In this case, please refer to the following KB article: