This article was created in response to a support issue logged with K2. The content may include typographical errors and may be revised at any time without notice This article is not considered official documentation for K2 software and is provided “as is” with no warranties.

Issue

We have a workflow Decision Step with multiple decisions linked to the same Task Result. We use a custom rule in the decision step to tell K2 which decision path to take. Example:

1. There is a Task with these actions:

a. Approve

b. Reject

c. Rework

2. Next we have a Decision step with these Decisions:

a. Approve1 (linked to the Approve Task Action)

b. Approve2 (linked to the Approve Task Action)

c. Approve3 (linked to the Approve Task Action)

d. Reject (linked to the Reject Task Action)

e. Rework (linked to the Rework Task Action)

Using P&D we deploy this workflow to a new environment and we notice that the Decision Step has now automatically been reconfigured to the the below:

a. Approve (linked to the Approve Task Action)

b. Approve (linked to the Approve Task Action)

c. Approve (linked to the Approve Task Action)

d. Reject (linked to the Reject Task Action)

e. Rework (linked to the Rework Task Action)

Symptoms

This only occurs for the Decisions which are linked to the same Task Action.

Resolution

This has been confirmed as a bug in K2 Five and will be addressed in a future release. You can use this KB as a reference.

Please use this workaround to resolve this issue:

Do not link the Decisions to the same Task Action. Since you have a custom rule determining the logic in your decision step you can mark the decisions as "Un-linked". You can now save and re-deploy the workflow and you will no longer see this reconfiguration occurring.