This article was created in response to a support issue logged with K2. The content may include typographical errors and may be revised at any time without notice. This article is not considered official documentation for K2 software and is provided "as is" with no warranties.
When opening K2 Management, K2 Workflow Designer or K2 Workspace for the first time, you will see a little walk-through guide popping up.
If you have a Fiddler or an F12 Network Trace running, you will also see that some calls will be made to "walkme.com
". The Welcome Wizard is removed when the user goes through each step but it returns if the cache is cleared.
The walkthrough guide uses resources from "walkme.com" to display correctly.
The recommended resolution for this is to just "walk through" the guide, by clicking on "Start" and clicking "Next" until "Finish", or "Got it", then you won't see this guide again next time you load the page, or until you clear browser cookies and cache. It's intended to introduce new users to K2 and explain how K2 Workspace / K2 Designer works.
You can also block these resources to avoid those calls from going external, either by editing the HOSTS file on your K2 server(s) or by adding an entry to DNS that routes all requests to walkme.com to 127.0.0.1.
The HOSTS file should be located here:
See the recommended resolution above.
Adding these two lines to the HOSTS file on your K2 Server(s) should prevent the calls to walkme.com: