This article was created in response to a support issue logged with K2. The content may include typographical errors and may be revised at any time without notice This article is not considered official documentation for K2 software and is provided “as is” with no warranties.

Issue

Setting a workflow version as the default loads the correct workflow version in the backend however, it does not update the workflow design.

How can a workflow be reverted back to a previous version in K2 Five?

Symptoms

After changing a workflows version from a newer version to an older version, the workflow design is not updated and the previous defaulted version of the workflow is still displayed in the workflow design.

Resolution

To update the workflow design after a version had been set to default, you need to do the following:

  • Download the new default version 
  • Delete the previous version. (Example: if you have version 1,2 and 3 where 3 is your current default, and you would like to go back to version 2, you would then set version 2 as the default, download version 2 and delete version 3)
  • Navigate to K2 Designer and delete the workflow. The workflow will not disappear, but instead update the workflow design to the version of the workflow that had been set to be the default. In other words, it would then load the kprx of the downloaded version (in this case version 2).

For additional peace of mind It is recommended that you take a backup of your K2 database prior to performing the above steps for restore and reverting purposes should you run into any complications.